Project R E C O V E R Y by Feeding The Hungry Photographer

“These pictures I’ve taken of people, have stories behind them. Each of us have stories that we don’t tell people. We’re afraid of exposing our vulnerability and expressing ourselves. I take pictures because to me, a picture really does tell a thousand words. The first time I held a camera, I was a child and I was so happy when I followed my father to develop the films. I would sit patiently in the shop and waited until I got all the photographs developed. This is the last picture for tonight.

No one told you how difficult it is to be strong when everything is falling apart. When I fell apart, Winnie was the only one who extended her hands and lifted me up. She fought my monsters and demons away when I no longer had the strength to do so. The lives she had touched ; the ones she had inspired, I hope that they never take her for granted. I watched her break down and fall apart more than once and with whatever strength she had, she still lifted herself up. Only 21 years old and Secretly, she bares more scars than most people I know. In this photograph, you see a very happy person with her bare face who defines strength and that itself, is beauty. At the age of 15, she talked me down from jumping off the ledge and I am who I am today because of her. Yes, she’s not a model or an Ivy League grad but she is one really amazing person that I bet, so many people are grateful they’ve became friends with her ; not just me. Recently, she fell apart but it hit her hard. Yet slowly, she lifted herself back up again with the little ounce of strength left in her and she continued fighting.

The 3 important lessons that Win taught me were :

  1. Never be ashamed of who you are and what you like.
  2. Forgiveness, kindness and love don’t cost a thing. So forgive, always be kind and love ; for your heart was made for it.
  3. You, are enough. Keep fighting for you, are worth it.

I end my yearly project with this photograph that has been beautified by strength. She’s your living proof that you’re strong enough to pull through and that you can keep fighting. Chapter 21 : Strength, Project R E C O V E R Y by Feeding The Hungry Photographer. Thank you.”

#bestbirthdaypresentever

 

All visuals and words belong to Win W.™ unless stated otherwise.

Leave a Reply

