Simple Chia Seed Pudding & Banana Smoothie Bowl Recipes

Chia Seed Pudding

If you’re following me on Instagram, you’ve probably seen these two recipes. Initially I wrote it here so it wouldn’t be so clumped up together.

Friends have asked me how to make my chia seeds pudding from looking at my Snapchat. Yes, I’ve developed a little addiction to chia seeds and for the past 2 week, I’ve been trying out different recipes. I am testing out a chai flavoured chia pudding. I’ll post it up once it’s perfect. So here’s my very simple (I swear, a 5 year old could do this without hesitation) recipe :
[Note – This depends how big your mason jar is. I reused a jam jar]

Ingredients :
5 table spoons of natural plain yoghurt
10 table spoons of milk (use any milk you like. I use full cream. You could use almond milk, low-fat milk etc.)
4 dates ; pitted and cut into pieces (optional)
5 table spoons of chia seeds (or more depending if you want your pudding to be watery or firm. The more seeds you use, the firmer it’ll become.)

Instructions :

1. In a mason jar, mix the yoghurt and milk until smooth.
2. Place the dates into the mixture.
3. Whisk in chia seeds.
4. Let the mixture sit at room temperature for 30 minutes ; stirring the mixture occasionally so the chia seeds don’t clump up at the bottom of the jar.
5. Close the jar and place it in the fridge for 3 hours or overnight before indulging it.

PS : To enjoy your pudding, you can top it off with any fruits you want. Since this recipe has dates, that substitutes the sweetness into your pudding. You can also top it with honey/maple syrup or raisins like in the picture. If you want a chocolate chia seed pudding, in your milk + yoghurt, you whisk in a 3 teaspoons of cocoa powder with a pinch of salt.

Banana Smoothie Bowl

My house always has tons of bananas. I have 4 banana trees and when they bare fruit, I turn them into meals. I make all kind of smoothies with frozen bananas. With oats, other fruits and even ice cream! I never add sugar into my juices because fruits have a lot of natural sugar. So I usually just place a little pinch of salt to balance the sweetness out. This recipe is so versatile and so, very easy to make too! Plus, it’s inexpensive as well!

Ingredients :

2 ripe frozen bananas (Mine are homegrown bananas so you could use any you prefer)
3 tbsp of natural plain yoghurt
1/4 cup of milk use any milk you like. (I use full cream. You could use almond milk, low-fat milk etc.)
1/2 tsp of cinnamon (optional)
A pinch of salt.

Toppings : Basically anything you wish.  You could use honey, dates, chia seeds, fresh fruits, raisins etc.

Instructions :

1. In a blender, place the bananas, yoghurt and milk.
2. Add a pinch of salt and cinnamon. (You could use ground nutmeg if you wish too!)
3. Blend until smooth.
4. Pour it into a bowl and serve. Best enjoyed cold!
4. Top it off with any topping you desire. I just use what I could find in my kitchen.

PS : Since this recipe is just the basic banana smoothie bowl ; you can make a chocolate banana smoothie by adding 3 teaspoons of cocoa powder.

 

For more recipes, stay tuned ♣
Leave a Reply

