You Are…The People You Surround Yourself With.

Parliament House, Melbourne. [Spring Street in East Melbourne at the edge of the Melbourne city centre of Victoria, Australia] Photo credits to : James and my iPhone.
Oprah Winfrey once said ‘Surround yourself with only people who are going to lift you higher,’ and this is the truth.

Last year, my lecturer told us to surround ourselves with people will bring positivity to us and that we are too, what we read. I slowly had the courage to cut off ties with some friends whom are now like strangers to me. It’s not that I no longer love them. It’s just that sometimes it is necessary for your own well-being. Of course it hurt a lot to do so but 2015 taught me that it was time to be selfish.

People perceive selfishness as something bad but what if it is must to do so? You can’t tell me that you’re going to keep consuming an unhealthy meal and expect your health to be fine with it. I needed myself to grow and I took a bold move. I cut them off because I honestly didn’t want to surround myself with negativity. I wanted to be with people who will encourage me to be successful and grow. It’s 2016 and you are entitled to choose your friends wisely. It is time to save yourself. You are important too.

There is only so much negativity one can take in a lifetime. So I urge you, whoever you are that is reading this post, you got to do you. It will be alright. What’s unhealthy and not making you grow, you shouldn’t trap yourself that way. If the environment around you is unsafe for your mental, emotional and physical well-being, it’s time to leave. You deserve so much better.

Leave a Reply

