Gina Rodriguez in Women’s Health Mag.

  
If you don’t already know, I watch Jane The Virgin. Ever since I started watching the series, my admiration for Gina Rodriguez grew. So you can imagine my reaction when she made it on the cover of Women’s Health magazine on empowering women! The picture above is my favourite shot of Gina. She talks about how women can be our own heroes. And that being flawed isn’t a bad thing. 

She’s curvy and with her amazing confidence, she pushed back the body shamers. Living with Hashimoto’s disease, Gina further talks about how boxing has helped her fight for herself. And I believe you can too, dear reader. You can fight for yourself.

  

 

Here a picture of me. If you notice you can see pimples on my left cheek and frizzy split ends. And truthfully, since the start of 2016, I’ve been learning to love myself. What I’ve learned so far is that you can be your own hero. You have the strength to pick yourself back up. It’s alright to be flawed and it’s alright if not everyone likes you. You’re beautiful. You’re strong. You’re amazing.

It’s a learning curve and there’ll be days where your insecurities will get the better of you. But you have to remember that no one else can be you and that’s the power that you have. You can take charge of your destiny and never, ever let someone take hold of it.

Be you. You are worthy. You are enough. 

It’s like we women consciously decide we’re going to be mean to ourselves. But you’re your own hero, not some image you can’t live up to.” – Gina Rodriguez.

Leave a Reply

