Thankful Thanksgiving

This whole entire year had been really rough and there are so many times I feel like giving up. I sat down today and I looked back at all the messages my friends sent me ; Through WhatsApp, Facebook, Twitter, iMessage, text messages and some through phone calls. I truly believe that friends are angels God give you. I’ve been blessed with magnificent friends. Maybe they don’t know how I feel sometimes, but I think the fact that they check up on me without me telling them what’s wrong makes me feel loved.

So for Thanksgiving this year (it’s not about the turkey), I am thankful for all you mentioned in this post.

IMG_2161.JPG

First off, this goes out to my best friend Deia. You have no idea how much I love you and if God were to decide to take you away from my life at any cause, my world would shatter. You’re my person. We’re like Cristina Yang and Meredith Grey from Grey’s Anatomy and we’re like twins. You were there for me since day one of high school. I noticed you sitting at a corner of our orientation day and only later we became friends. The pictures above were taken when we passed by a little art gallery. For 5 minutes, we stood in comfortable silence and embraced the art. Deia, you’re the only person that would figure out a way to dispose of the body if I ever killed someone.  You’re the only person who knows what I’m feeling even when I don’t tell you. I don’t know how to thank you enough. You were there to see through me and not judge me for one bit. You never doubted me once and you have never, ever given up on me. Thank you for accepting me as I am ; I love you best friend for all eternity.

PhotoGrid_1408635432673Girls, you’re like my clan of craziness. All of you in the Polaroid picture above, thank you. Thank you for making my 20th birthday this year a blast. Thank you for being there when I’m crying. Thank you for letting me hold your hand in Starbucks while I broke down in silent sobs and thank you for being the people whom I go to when I need to rant about uni. People will never understand our inside jokes. Thank you for always being there for me (through our Oppai WhatsApp group) and share our girly moments.

PhotoGrid_1397194916762 Nate and Steph, thank you for always checking up on me. Thank you. This is the only picture I could find that has all 3 of us in it. Our friendship was built in Dash camp last year and who knew that we would all be this close. I actually never expect being so close to you two. I honestly think I wouldn’t have survived camp last year without you two by my side. Thank you, for everything you’ve done.

 

My ‘Gazebo’ gang. My movie partners and my drivers too! Thank you for giving me all of your advice. Thank you for sharing your popcorn and drinks with me in the cinemas and thank you for your huge box of present that is sitting next to me. When I get upset, I flip it open and I read all the things in there and smile, thinking of all the effort you all put into it.

To the boys (plus Hiru) who made my last two high school years memorable. Thank you for the coffee sessions and pizza moments where you would just let me indulge in my food and not judge me one bit. Part of me have become a bro instead of a girl to you guys. Thank you for being yourselves and not judging me. Thank you for everything 🙂

And here’s to the other people whom I can’t seem to find any pictures with. Yuen, Abby, David and Jeffrey. Thank you the coffee moments, Skype, FaceTime, and all the meet ups. Thank you for just being there listening to be rant about my life. This year, I felt like I’ve been closer to all of you because you were there when I needed you and when I wanted to scream my head off, you were there to calm me down. And when I needed someone to say “Okay Winnie. You need to stop giving a damn about this shit”, you were there to slap me on the face. Thank you for the moments when I needed a wake up call on life.

Meredith Grey once said “There’s an old proverb that says you can’t choose your family. You take what the fates hand you. And like them or not, love them or not, understand them or not, you cope. Then there’s the school of thought that says the family you’re born into is simply a starting point. They feed you, and clothe you, and take care of you, until you’re ready to go out into the world and find your tribe” ; well this is my tribe. My tribe who picks me up when I fall and accepts me for who I am. My tribe where I’m proud to call family in this game field of life.

Leave a Reply

