Maybe it’s just me.
But I notice if someone missed a spot with a straightening iron and I wonder if they were in a rush. Or just tired. Or their hair wasn’t cooperating.
I notice if someone wears the same jacket everyday and I wonder if it’s their favorite. Or it was a gift. Or they lost their other one that they liked better.
I notice if someone’s eyes look a little brighter and I wonder if they’re having a good day. Or someone complimented them. Or their significant other told them they love them.
I notice if someone forgot to do their homework and I wonder if it just slipped their mind. Or they were busy. Or they were distracted by something really good or bad.
I notice if someone always writes but never speaks and I wonder if they’re shy. Or they’re always lost in their thoughts. Or they’re going through things and write to get their emotion out.
I notice if someone looks sad and I wonder if they’re going through a breakup. Or their parents are fighting. Or they’re having a hard time with school.
I notice if someone checks their phone regularly without doing anything on it and I wonder if they’re waiting for something. Or wishing someone would text them. Or merely wanting to leave class already.
I notice if someone doesn’t eat and I wonder if they’re sick. Or they’re upset. Or they have a fear of gaining weight.
I notice if someone always wears long sleeves and I wonder if they really like sweaters. Or are always cold. Or have something to hide.
I notice if someone pays attention to someone/something else and I wonder if they like them/it. Or if they’re daydreaming. Or if they are wondering about it.
I notice if someone doesn’t notice me and I wonder if it’s because people tend to look away when someone realizes they’re looking. Or there’s no “little thing” that I always do. Or I’m just not a pretty sight to see.
And I notice if someone only talks to me when they need something. And I wonder if I’m actually their friend. Or just someone to use. Or just another blank face with a blank history.
But sometimes…
Sometimes, I notice all of these things.
And I wonder why no one seems to notice them in me.
candysaidthesky
Leave a Reply

