A Different Transformation.


I promise you, I’m always there. When your heart is filled with sorrow and despair. I’ll carry you when you need a friend. You’ll find my footprints in the sand.

Those were the words sang by British singer, Leona Lewis. Why did I post it, you may ask. Because it had left me in a trembling state. The song spoke to me in so many ways. It is also the main reason why I want to be pediatrician. A few weeks back, I was challenged by someone who told me dreams are meant to be dreams. But what if I were to tell you that dreams are ALWAYS meant to be what YOU WANT to be.

Being a pediatrician does not mean I just want to be a kid doctor. I want to be more than that. I want to change the world. How? Well, I want to change the lives of children globally. So that is why, I want to make the difference in my school by forming a “You Make The Difference Team” and go around telling my school about how children who suffer from poverty/abuse out there that they still have someone who they could still count on.

I want to tell them that they still have someone to lean on and want them to know that life isn’t always filled with suffering for there are people who are here to lend you his/her hand. I was then questioned “Why a pediatrician? And not just a volunteer?” It is a funny question and I have your answer. Not everyone has a passion in being a kid doctor. Not everyone could go through the patience in taking care of children. As you may know, child abuse and unwanted babies have indeed risen lately.

I want to be a pediatrician who could bring smiles to children and tell them to fight. I want to tell them that they can’t just give up. I want to tell them that if someone or something is strong enough to bring you down, show them you’re strong enough to get back up. Why, you may ask, is it so important for me to make a difference. There is no denying that we’ve all been a kid. We have all been wanted to be notice as a kid. Mind you, we were also seeking for attention.

So let’s just pretend that you were a 4-year-old who is suffering from poverty and you are about die. You may think that this world is cruel and God is unfair to you because He has left you in this state. You wonder why you are in this state, where everyone is off having a better life than you. You also just wish that all the suffering could stop. That is what a 4-year-old in Johannesburg, South Africa who is currently lying on the streets just waiting for someone to come and help him.

He is waiting for someone to whisper in his ear saying “I’m here, and I’m here to help you.” What if that was you? Lying there just waiting for the world to change? What if you were that kid who is just screaming out hoping someone would hear your cries? This brings me to my main point. I want to cure not only sick children but also cure their broken hopes and dreams. They need us more than you could ever imagine. They may be small but a life is a life.

My title of this post is to tell you that I want a different change. A different and better life for the children. This post is to speak out to you that everyone is entitle to help whether you are near or far. One help can make a big transformation. May I remind you that each child have his/her dreams and hopes. Their dreams on waiting for the world to change and for someone to tell them it’s all over. And it is my dream to see them smile again.

Do you want to be that someone? That someone who could be the wall for these children? That someone who could tell the world to put a stop in the suffering? Well, I’m going to be that someone. So, do you want to that someone too?

39 thoughts on “A Different Transformation.

    1. THIS IS SO COOL!u really inspired me too.being a difference is gonna be hard but its always easy when u have the Lord with u!trust in Him and he’ll take care of u!=D

  1. Although my job as the Social Service Director in Leo Club allow me help Orphans or underprivileged children, i also feel the same way.
    I WANT TO HELP THEM TOO!
    There is only i thing i can now……..
    I FULLY SUPPORT YOUR IDEA ON BUILDING
    A “You Make The Difference Team”. =]

  2. Definitely.

    Your ambition is truly inspiring and people not only from our school, but outside of bounds will aspire to be as courageous and kind like you. Poverty and injustice shall be abolished and start anew with these young children who suffered not just physically, but mentally and spiritually as well. This is an opportunity to bring confidence, happiness and optimism back on track in each and everyone of them.

    We should all do our best to provide for them now and be no more selfish. We should stop the greed and start giving.

    Kudos, Winnie. πŸ™‚

  3. NUUU i wrote a super long comment and its gone? D:

    nevermind.

    WINNIE! I agree with you 100%.
    Just to see someone smile and being happy pays off.
    I WANT TO HELP MAKE A DIFFERENCE!

    Change the world,
    Make it a better place.

  4. hey win , nice empowering post there πŸ™‚
    hold on to your dreams and i’m very sure you can be a pediatrician in the future. you’re so loving , cheerful and nice.
    work hard and i’m sure your dreams will be fulfilled πŸ˜‰

    lots of love ,
    jiawen πŸ™‚

  5. This is absolutely lovely, Winnie.

    I’m really glad that there is someone who actually cares about what’s going on out there in the world. Put your mind to it, don’t take no for an answer and don’t give up, ever. Your dreams will definitely come true. And I honestly hope it does. I love to be a part of this. ❀

  6. your post itself probably would have already changed and inspired others. You’re an inspiration yourself win πŸ™‚ nice post once again πŸ˜€

  7. Hey, thank you guys! For every comment you guys post, I’ll get to know that I’m actually changing the world already. So I thank you! πŸ˜€

  8. I’m going to change the world and turn it all over again with smiles and happiness. Of course there is sad, sometimes. But at least the people who’s suffering from all the disease could take a chance and believe that- they could have a chance to live and not just die like that. πŸ™‚

  9. Hey winnie, seriously moving speech up there. All the children with searching for help are sure lucky to have you to make a difference =D

  10. awesome post!!=)
    really inspirational and motivating=D
    i completely support you in doing this…good job!
    be strong,work hard..i’ll be praying for u=)
    -lyd-

  11. All of you have just done your part in helping me in changing the world already!! Just by comment. And i thank you for that πŸ™‚

  12. awesome post winnie!!=)
    very inspirational adn motivational..i completely support you in changing the world..make a difference..be that difference!!good job!=D
    i’ll be praying for u=)
    -lyd-

  13. well written winnie. Thank God for young people like yourself to step up for the future of upcoming generations. keep up that burning desire. =)

  14. so much for robin hood. lalit’s in the house yo! ;D
    these kids need help and we’ll be there for em’ any way we can. (:

  15. I’m so happy that there are actually people who are willing to go through hardship just so that this one little kid gets to have a full meal.

    And you know how I feel about this, haha. You’ve seen my essay.

    Great work, dear ! πŸ˜€

  16. bravo winnie! bravo! i’m so very proud of u. promise me that u’ll never ever lose this passion. growing up can be somewhat tiring & trying so pls pls HOLD ON to yr dream & keep focussed (on it). Never let anyone tell u yr dream is unattainable – hey, it’s yr dream not theirs. let them think what they like abt their own dreams…but tell them to leave yr dreams alone!!

    go, girl, go….i’m right here with u.

    xoxo

  17. Oh winnie πŸ™‚ with yr hopes and dream it will come It can happend in the future as long u gave it yr all πŸ™‚ i wish u good luck on this πŸ™‚

  18. WHOA. it’s great to see you so motivated. It’s not everyday I meet someone who’s so drawn to these things. Hope to see you this Saturday!

    YAY WINNIE!

  19. Hey Winnie.
    This is very eye opening. The world does need more people like you.
    If hope your dream of making their dreams come true..do come true.
    Don’t give up okay.
    God Bless. πŸ™‚

  20. everyone wants to make a difference..
    but not everyone is willing to take up that first step.
    really touched that u r willing to do it.
    will support u all the way.
    Go Winnie ^^

  21. Awesome. I was part of Make Poverty History in my school’s Interact club and a couple of my friends decided to create a separate group whereby we aim to directly support children in poverty. (:

    SOOOO yeahs. Haha, I hope you have fun whilst saving others. It should be a pleasant experience. God Bless!

  22. I love your way of writing win! You have a way with words! This is so inspiring and this means a lot to me cause i feel the same about this. We’ll all make a difference! Go winnie! *bear hug*

Leave a Reply

